I Want More Sketchbooks + Why I Hate Art Class

So y’all know that recently I got myself a decent sketchbook.

I only used like 3 pages, yet I already want a new one. I’ve been watching a lot of videos on youtube of people’s sketchbook collections, and how they have some for different uses. My sketchbook right now is primarily for art class (I wasss going to use the dollar store one, but now since I have a GOOD sketchbook I can’t go back to shitty quality paper). You see, in art class we have to have a neat and organised sketchbook. So I can’t do all of these sketches that I see on youtube that I also want to do… I need complete drawings.

SO I WANT ANOTHER SKETCHBOOK TO DO MORE PERSONAL DRAWINGS WHERE NO ONE CAN JUDGE FOR A MARK!!! (BUT I’M BROKE RIP)

Anyways, I realised that I don’t really like art class after noticing how I feel so restricted when I use my sketchbook. Not only is it because I don’t have this freedom to do whatever I desire, but because it’s actually a very judgemental class, and you draw for others, not yourself.

My art teacher is actually pretty cool, but I’ve heard and experienced teachers in the past who prefer realism over an original style.

There is always that one student in the class who can draw hyper realism- and they get all of the praise. Some may even feel some jealousy.

You also have that one student who is extremely creative, but their works are ignored (except for the teacher depending on who it is), because they don’t draw realism.

Then we have these students who are not good at art, but are doing it for an easy credit. They always complain that their art is bad, compare artworks often, and throw their art in the trash. This creates a very negative environment.

But it’s really annoying when that hyper realism artist throws their outstanding art in the trash… Like jeez.

Another thing that annoys me is when people compare artists in the class- straight to your face. In elementary school, I’ve literally had classmates tell me that my art is inferior to another- who drew hyper realism. Like really guys? I’m not a realistic artist. Why are you comparing our art?

I would write something meaningful like to stop being judgemental, but it’s just how humans naturally are.

edit: ALSO MY PENCIL CRAYONS ALWAYS GO MISSING. DAFUQ Y’ALL, STOP STEALING THEM!!

9 thoughts on “I Want More Sketchbooks + Why I Hate Art Class

  1. realism art is amazing, but I always think semi-realism to cartoon style is the prettiest. all personal tastes man.
    one of my friends has a separate sketchbook for each type of drawing. I just have all different styles jam packed into one sketchbook.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. reading this post made me feel ashamed of myself because i have like, 3 sketchbooks now (okay-ish quality btw) and completed 2 of them lol
    AND I REALLY WANT A MOLESKINE SKETCHBOOK, JUST AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH GOTTA COLLECT DEM MONEY—
    and ughh the hyper-realism artists….their art is cool and all but i dislike how they always shove their to everyone and think theyre an art god just stop..
    and im the negative artist HHAHAHHAHAhHhaha—–
    RIP PENCIL CRAYONS, ONE TIME I LET Y CLASSMATE BORROW MY FABER CASTELL PENCILS AND THEY LOST IT!!!! but thankfully i found it whew

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

