what am i doing wrong in maths

i’m too upset to even care about english right now

if someone can help me, that’d be great

so in math homework we’re given the answers, but we have to show how to solve

anyways, my answer is always different from the answer key so i’m wondering “what am i doing wrong?” this upsets me because usually I’m really good at math (like literally today’s work i got it all right, and i got all of my weekend homework right) but NOW everything I am doing is wrong, even though i swear i’m doing the same things that i did this morning

I mean, in (11/6) = (1/3) + p, I say that P=9, but the answer key says that P=3/2. Totally different answers.

i multiplied the fractions by 6, so I got:

11 = 2 + p

9 = p

so I have no idea what i’m doing wrong

In (-1/4)w – 3 = w + (1/3) I say the answer is -36/7 = w, but the answer key says that it’s -8/3.

I multiplied by 12

so I got -3w – 36 = 4w

-36 = 4w+3w

-36 – 7w

-36/7 = w

so yeah if anyone can guide me to the right path i’d love that

 

38 thoughts on “what am i doing wrong in maths

  1. I get it. (11/6) = (1/3 + p) So you have to do 11/6 subtracted by 1/3 because you need to figure out p. 11/6 – 1/3 is 9/6 and if you simplify, you get p= 3/2
    (I know that’s probably the wrong way to do it, but that’s how I understand it. )

    Liked by 2 people

    • Now that I think about it you’re right (I mean that is A right way to solve it) but when you’re in high school you’re not supposed to do that. 😛
      You’re supposed to do a strategy that makes it much quicker and effective. Subtracting fractions (y’know, putting them into common denominators and then reducing) takes A LONG time. Well, it’s actually pretty much just longer but in math you’re expected to do things quickly
      BTW I already found my mistake LITERALLY after posting, but I’m just going to wait to see if anyone is smart enough to see what I did wrong, haha

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lol! I’m in high school next year, but I’m in honors classes, so I know what you’re talking about. It’s just easier for my brain to do the subtraction than another way so yeah.

        Like

      • In Canada we don’t have honor classes. =_= But technically in high school I’m literally taking the highest level of math that I can take, so….
        I wish I went to school in America and just went to university in Canada, just so university would be a piece of cake.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lol. Honors classes aren’t that fun because none of your friends are in your classes, and they are really hard. To me, Canada seems much easier than America, but there’s a lot of French, but I speak Latin, so I wouldn’t understand half of it.

        Like

      • You speak Latin? No one speaks it nowadays, cool.
        Even if they’re really hard, you could like easily switch to “regular” classes in high school and have the easiest time, ever. (Since this would be stuff you already learned.)
        They only speak French in Quebec, you’re pretty much safe anywhere else.

        Liked by 1 person

      • OH I SEE WHERE YOU’RE WRONG WHEN YOU DO THAT. When you multiply one side of the equation, you’re supposed to multiply everything on the other side. When you multiply 11/9, it equals 11 but on the other side you tried to multiply only 1/3 by 9. That is wrong; you can’t ignore the + p. When multiplied by nine, the equation is then 11 = 2 + 9p. The variable p is still a number; you just don’t know it. You could say that 1/3 and p could be added together as one number, so it wouldn’t make sense to only multiply only PART of the number by 9.
        Hope you maybe learned something rofl. That was a mistake I sometimes made in algebra, too.

        Like

  2. I’m terrible at math, and I have no idea what that equation is, but one thing I know you always have to remember is BEDMAS. BEDMAS is the order you have to solve problems in, and it means Brackets, Exponents, Divide and Multiply, Add and Subtract. When you have multiple parts of an equation at the same level of importance in that order (two sets of brackets, for example) then you go from left to right. I don’t really know how that could apply to your equation, but maybe it’ll help. Good luck with your homework! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • I actually literally found what I did wrong right after I posted this, LOL
      at this point, I’m wondering to see who can actually find my error
      the error had nothing to do with BEDMAS, though. (I followed it correctly.)
      And sorry that I’m probably not going to be on BVD today! Two tests, a presentation, and two assignments to keep up.

      Like

      • Yeah, I saw your other comment about that, but I just wanted to share that tip. 😛 I obviously won’t be able to find your error… I TAKE PRE-CALCULUS AND THAT LOOKS NOTHING LIKE ANYTHING WE’VE COVERED SO FAR. -_-
        That’s good to know, though!
        And that’s totally fine. We all get caught up with stuff in real life eventually, and school has to come first. (This is coming from someone who had to keep delaying BRD banners for something like four months in a row because school. :/)

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve only seen BEDMAS. Realistically, the order is actually parenthesis, brackets, exponents, multiplication and division are switched, and addition and subtraction are switched.
        So it should be something like PBEDMAS or something, lol

        Like

      • Well, people here seem to think parentheses and brackets are interchangeable, and I’ve never seen both of them on anything we’ve had to do. Why would addition and subtraction be switched, BTW? Aren’t they on the same level of importance? I thought with addition and subtraction, you just moved from left to right no matter what.

        Like

      • I meant that they can be done from a left to right order. So if Subtraction appears first instead of addition, you’d so subtraction.Bad at explaining, sorry!
        Well, you’ve probably seen brackets and parentheses in a situation like this: [(x+y) * (q+p)] (I don’t know, something like that.) As you can see, you’ll have to do parentheses first, no matter what. Brackets are usually the ones outside of the parentheses, but you could do double brackets or double parentheses, but this is how it’s written in math documents 😛

        Like

      • Oh, I see. 😛 Makes sense!
        I think I might have seen that…maybe once. I really don’t think our math is that advanced, considering we spent half a unit finding out what imperial units are. Because we use the metric system and therefore should never, ever know about inches, feet, and miles until now! 😮

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve seen a lot of different acronyms for it. One year we learned BEDMAS, another year we had BPMDAS. I just go with BEDMAS because it’s easy to pronounce. 😛
        (And that makes me think of My Very Excellent Mother Just Served Us Nine Pizzas or whatever it was for the names of the planets. I wonder what they use for that now…)

        Liked by 2 people

  3. For the second one when you multiply a number to the equation you need to do it to all the terms. You didn’t multiply the 12 to the 1/3 to get 4

    Like

Leave a Reply

