Have Smart Goals!

I writing this to make myself more motivated to study, and I’m actually getting quizzed on this in Monday… I only did my math homework today, I NEED TO STUDY @_@

Tired of procrastinating? Want to lose weight or be more fit? Have a goal that you find hard to obtain? Well now you should follow the SMART goals planner (sometimes called “targets”.) These SMART goals will help you obtain goals, because in order to successfully reach your goal you must have a well thought action plan. Following SMART goals is an excellent way to remember how to effectively write a goal, as they are specific, measurable, attainable, relevant, and completed within a certain time frame.

Specific

A goal must have a clear intended result. The goal must be defined well, and easy for anyone to understand. “I want to exercise more” is a terrible goal. Instead, you should write “I want to start exercising an hour more than what I usually exercise in a day” is specific, clear, and defined so well even a child understands what you’re doing exactly!

Measurable

When you set a goal, it’s important that you’re able to measure the goal. When you say the goal up to when you achieve the goal, you want to be able to prove that you’ve done it. When you observe your behaviour, you should be able to see measurable change. SMART goals must be reliable, valid, and objective. For example, instead of saying “my knowledge in science will improve” you should say, “I will be able to memorize the entire periodic table.” So when you test yourself from the beginning and the end, you’ll notice how much you know!

Attainable

They have to actually be achievable. Don’t make a ridiculous goal such as, “I will memorize the whole bible in a second for the religion exam” but make a realistic goal such as “I will memorize the important parts of the bible in a week for the religion exams.” When you write a goal, you always have to consider how you’re going to achieve the goal. You must evaluate what you need and the resources available. In the first example “I will memorize the whole bible in a second for the religion exam” a second is not enough time to memorize a whole book, so you’d have to see if you have more time in your schedule. So don’t forget to make sure that resources are available! Before saying a goal, check all of the things you’ll need first (quanity, quality, accessibility, and safety of the physical resources.)

Relevant

It has to mean something to you. Why do you want to do it? What do you get out if it? Why is the goal important to you? What makes it relevant to you? If you’re spending hours studying, it shows that you are serious about wanting to pass the test. It shows that you want to do well. Make sure you have that effort!

Time Frame

Finally, you have to aim for a specific amount of time. It’s the length of time that you need in order to achieve the goal. If you aren’t given a specific amount of time to do something, you’ll probably think “oh, I’ll work on it later.”

_________________________________

So anyways, my SMART goal for now is: I want to memorize things needed for the religion quiz on Monday, memorize what SMART goals are for the female fitness quiz on Monday as well, and finish at least 75% of my symbol assignment by the end of Sunday, September 27th, 2015.

This goal is important to me because I WANT TO GET A GOOD MARK.

 

14 thoughts on “Have Smart Goals!

Leave a Reply

