My School’s Education and Grading System

It’s interesting to hear many grading systems around the world. It’s also interesting to know that in other countries, my friends would fail school and that I’d be just average. You can easily pass in Canada, but you’d be known as a failure in America. My school’s grading and education system is less strict by a lot compared to other countries.

Please comment down below how your school is like, I’m curious!

First off, where I live we use numbers 4, 3, 2, 1, and the letter R instead of A, B, C, D, and F.

4 = A

3 = B

2 = C

1 = D

R = F

Second off, these are the percentages required to get each grade:

80%+ = 4

70% – 79% = 3

60% – 69% = 2

50% – 59 = 1

49% and lower = R

“Want to know why pirates don’t make good teachers? They give too many Rs.” – My 6th grade teacher

TBH I have no idea why they use a freaking R. Can’t they use like zero or something?

By the way, in elementary school you can PASS WITHOUT GOING TO SCHOOL, AT ALL. There were two people in my class WHO ONLY CAME TO SCHOOL FOR LIKE A MONTH AND THAT’S IT, YET THEY PASSED. OH MY GOD, CANADA IS SO FLAWED. I’M NOT EVEN KIDDING. I WOULD SHOW PROOF IF I COULD.

Third off, in high school you’re given three levels to choose from:

Academic – For the people who want to go to University

Applied – For the people who want to go to College

Essential – For the people who want to work at office jobs that no one wants or works for minimum wage

If you get over a 70% average, YOU DO NOT HAVE TO DO EXAMS unless you’re in Academic. You always have to do exams in Academic.

ALSO, there’s a difference between College and University here. University is for those high class paying jobs, and College is more for those medium class paying jobs.

This is my description of the three levels:

Academic – Average people. (But seriously though, even if you take this college and university is still hell.)

Applied – For below average people. (GOOD LUCK IN COLLEGE! If you make it that far.)

Essential – For those below the below average. (Good luck working at minimum wage jobs!)

All three of those levels are completely different, by the way, if you get a 100 in applied, if you switch to academic it’s going to be completely different and you’re going to not know how to do anything. Which is why most teachers tell you not to switch. If you go from academic to applied though, you’re going to find school a lot easier but I really don’t recommend it. Anyways, if you ever come to my area where they have this system, take academic or you’re screwed to get a good job!

Random facts, which then you’ll realise that you’re much more intelligent than I am:

We DO NOT learn BASIC Algebra until 8th grade. (Example: 9 + n = 11. What is n?)

We DO NOT learn negative and positive integers until 8th grade.

We learn the periodic table in high school.

WE NEVER LEARNED HOW TO MULTIPLY AND DIVIDE. We were told to use a calculator.

PEOPLE COMPLAIN ABOUT THE PUBLIC SCHOOL DRESS CODE, WHICH IS LITERALLY NO WEARING SHIRTS THAT PROMOTES INAPPROPRIATE BEHAVIOUR AND TO NOT WEAR JUST UNDERWEAR.

That’s really all I can think of right now. Anyways, the Canadian public school system sucks and you’ll barely learn anything. No wonder people pass so easily.

__________________

So yeah, as said comment down below! I’m extremely curious to how different schools are like! 🙂

113 thoughts on “My School’s Education and Grading System

  1. In the US or where I’m at idk a 4= 90%+ 3= 80 to 89 2= 70 to 79 and a 1 is 65 and below
    I learned basic algebra in 5th grade but that’s probably because my parents made me go to a tutorial

    Like

      • I think it might depend on your area, because over here teachers always told us this stuff. The thing is, the reason why academic people ALWAYS do exams is because when you go to college or university they want to look at your exam marks, or you can’t get in.
        Are you from Ontario, by the way? You don’t have to answer, but I’m just curious if it’s just Ontario.

        Like

  2. I live in Canada and I learned how to multiply and divide in grade 3 and I didn’t learn algebra but some other kids in my neighbor hood learned and I sorta found out how to do it xD my old old school was like that and we got no test so it may be your school xD

    Like

  3. Wow O_O
    This is so easy I need to move to Canada
    Positive and negative from 6th grade
    Same as basic algebra
    We don’t have 1234
    We have like percentage and stuff
    In my old school ( the private one ) we had abcdef
    And omg I’m so moving to Canada 😦

    Like

  4. I live in Canada too, but as far as I know, I think these vary from the school regions you go to school in. (It’s true that they never fail anyone in elementary school and whatnot ;w;
    The schools I’ve went to all used Fs instead of Rs so I’m kind of curious why your school uses Rs O: )
    I don’t really think that the education would count as “flawed” though by letting dumb kids pass, because they’d end up with bad marks + job eventually…
    By keeping them in school, it’d only be a waste of taxpayer money giving them education anyways
    As for grades, it’s determined by province (what you listed only applies for Ontario, BC’s cut for A is 85) and people still continue to fail so setting a lower standard won’t change anything since it’s really up to how the school grades their students
    and if you end up competing any education system in any country, you’ll end up with the same level of knowledge so what’s the point?
    In my school, all three course levels are required to cover the same amount of information (it’s just learning style thats different- academic=note taking, applied= more hands on, essential=kids who may have learning setbacks) but levels are required to help you with the path you plan on pursuing (since university lvl courses will also be more based around a university’s teaching style)
    As for jobs, going to university does not, in any means, guarantee you a good job. Aviators, animators, etc who go to college has the potential to earn as much money as jobs that require you to go to university, the same way university will not always guarantee you a well payed jobs.
    Not to mention, workplace jobs allow you to start earning early and they could be living in a house, with a car, debt free, stable, by the time theyre 25, around the time university students are finally done studying. A plumber can also make as much as a doctor so it definitely shows that education isnt everything.
    While I do value education and plan on going to university as well, I think that it would be more practical to have good skills for a workplace (you may know how to study, but without skills you’re still nothing) and to just find a job you want (provided that you will be stable in the future?) rather than doing something for money.
    I think my school started teaching us algebra and pos/neg integers when we were in gr7 but i don’t remember clearly since my dad began teaching me when I was younger)…
    We were taught multiplication/division in grade 3 (which I do find late but I also learned it beforehand OTL) and weren’t allowed to use calculators for simple calculations (i was only allowed to use a calculator in high school when we had more complicated calculations, such as trigonometry and optics…)
    I went to catholic schools until now so i’ve had dress code (only for a short while since by the time they issued it i was nearly done oops) but my hs doesn’t have a dress code since it’s an art school and “students are supposed to express themselves” (as quoted by my teacher, dress code was apparently debated a lot before)
    tl;dr, i think canadian education really depends on your school board and it doesn’t really lack compared to american education (if you’ve ever searched it up this topic is really controversial and is more up to bias and opinion) and that people aren’t that dumb (? at least here, most people here take tutors and extra lessons to stay ahead)…
    sorry for the long comment |・ω・`)

    Liked by 1 person

    • No, it’s okay that you’ve made a long comment! I really do think that it depends on what region you live too. To be honest, I’m a pretty negative person which is why I said pretty negative things. I think letting kids who don’t try to work hard pass is bad because it doesn’t really teach them real life lessons. Like, if you get a job you have to do well in your job, or you won’t get a promotion, similar to how if we do well enough to pass a grade we’ll pass a grade. By the way, what people learned in my city is completely different from what other people have learned in their cities in the end. My brother is in university and his friends in university was taught some advance math in high school, while he did not, which made university A LOT harder for him. I think the reason why my thoughts are so strong about it is because the region I live in is probably one of the worse for education, I even looked at a highschool list of Ontario, most of the highschools in my city are on the bottom of the list! In here academic, applied, and essential is recommended/chosen from your grades, so that’s kinda why I think academic is the best choice. I know that some college jobs can be paid equal to or more than university, but it really depends on the field you’re studying in. Most college jobs don’t get paid as much in general, but nurses do get paid a lot of money! Most people I know (including myself) think that workplace jobs are boring, we don’t want to work for something that we won’t be happy with. My dad did tell me about that though, how for a lot of years plumbers will make as much money as doctors because of the high university fees. However, if you’re a lucky person (LIKE ME) when your parents are willing to pay for your university, you’re going to get paid a lot for life. I really appreciate my parents for doing that. Oh, how are Catholic schools like? I’m going to one for high school and I’m pretty paranoid about religion class and how they’re going to treat me, since I belong to a Buddhist family.

      Like

      • Ahh,I see;;
        But ya I agree, letting kids pass does teach them bad life lessons-
        My area`s schools are usually in the top 50s which will definitely explain why my views are different from yours and why you think of education here negatively–
        But omg I have no idea if my parents will pay for my university fee tbh they always just told me to get into uni (typical asian goal) and did talk about paying but they also told me i need a job bc i need money for university so I`m guessing they`ll pay mine partially…
        Getting your university fees paid is going to take a lot of stress off your shoulders omg ;w; I`m looking around for scholarships to see what I could apply for when I have to go to uni
        Catholic schools are ok, but I think public school actually treats students better…it`s just my experience (this high school is the only public one ive attended, and theres more people which could explain why theres more nice people) but public schools accept your religion more
        I don`t know how the catholic school you`re going to will be but I wish you luck (*^▽^*)
        Some catholic schools have really nice people but some are extremely cliquey

        Liked by 1 person

      • Everyone that I know who is going to my Catholic school are those generic “popular” people everyone talks about. The reason they’re going there is because their friends are going there, so I’m expecting a lot of snobby people, to be honest. This makes me really upset.
        I’m so thankful that my parents are paying for my fees, and when I’m older I’m going to do the same exact thing to my children and teach them to do that to their kids. I wish you the best of luck about paying your fees, just be really smart with your money and study hard once you’re there! Yeah, my parents are Asian and they told me I have to go to university. Funny thing is, I tell them I want to be a doctor and they honestly don’t believe me, but they’re still going to pay for my eight years if I do decide to do that when I’m in the appropriate age. You’re so lucky that you’re in a good school! By the way, thank you for wishing me luck as well. c:

        Liked by 1 person

    • It’s nice to know that a lot of people in my class would have failed. 🙂
      Seriously though you Americans are so strict with your grading
      no wonder it’s easy to be a straight A student here

      Like

      • I know! American public schools are so strict -.- Especially the dresscode, in my district/school we’re not allowed to wear gloves, dye our hair in crazy colors, wear vibrant makeup, and we’re not allowed to wear hats.. Unless it’s those weird fisherman bucket hats that no one wears.. e.e

        Liked by 1 person

      • Everyone here dyes their hair (besides me, because I like my hair the way it is but people keep on telling me to dye my hair purple or light brown -___-) Canadians need to stop complaining, we have tons of freedom compared to America!

        Like

      • True! Even at lunch, we’re only allowed to be at (1) The grass, or (2) the lunch tables. And we can’t stand around in groups or else someone will think we’re doing something bad -.-”

        Like

      • Meanwhile here you’re allowed to go anywhere to eat, as long as you have your parent’s and teacher’s permission… Man, next time my friend complains about school I’m going to tell them about America.
        And all of them HATE Canada and wished they were born in America. Ugh.

        Like

      • Seriously? xD. It’s worse in America. Especially in California. Schools here are really strict :P. I don’t mind though, because back in Belarus the teachers don’t give a crap about anything and that makes it worse, so much fights and stuff happens aha.

        Like

      • Yeah, almost every Canadian I have met said, “when I’m older I’m moving to New York/California, I hate Canada, Canada sucks!” I’ve been to California and personally I wouldn’t want to live there, since the houses are so expensive! Also it’s too hot for me. You’re from Belarus? 😮

        Like

      • Yeah, xD I know Europian but I forgot like most of it ;( Since I moved to California when I was .. 4 and a half.. or was it 5 and a half.. I don’t remember xD

        Like

      • Europian isn’t a language.. Europe is a continent (which contains many languages.) Don’t you mean Belarusian? (Since you’re from Belarus.)
        It’s okay though, I’m Asian yet I don’t know any Asian language. 😛

        Like

  5. Also, this is a really interesting post! I never knew this until now, I even told my mom and she was surprised :P. She said, “we’re moving into Canada, kids.” aha as a joke.. I think.. I hope. I don’t wanna move away from all my friends xD

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I live in Australia. We don’t actually get letter or number grades here… Instead we get ranked ;-; I’m not sure if it’s the same at all schools, but we get ranked and placed on a statistical graph…
    You never learnt division or multiplication? :0

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ranked? I’d hate being compared to other people!
      Well, my boyfriend taught me how to do them, but I was never taught in school. So no one in my class knows how to do it, really. :/
      As said, we’re just told: “JUST USE A CALCULATOR!”

      Like

      • Yeah there’s so much competition because of it :/
        But don’t you have to learn polynomial divisions eventually? You can’t use a calculator for that…

        Like

      • I have no idea what that is. *Searches it up* I still have no idea what that is, I’m assuming I’m probably going to learn it in high school. If not, every school sucks in my region, because I’m going to one of the best schools in my region. 😛

        Like

      • Woah I thought you were in high school lol which grade are you in (if u don’t mind me asking)?
        Another thing about Australia is we only have primary school and high school, no middle school 🙂

        Like

      • I’m going to high school in September, actually. So I’m going into grade 9.
        I actually don’t have middle school here as well! The reason for that being is because I live in a small region there’s not a lot of people so all middle schools had to be shut down.

        Like

      • In some schools high school is 7-12, but majority of it is 9-12. Yeah, it gets confusing when there’s no middle school. ^^”

        Like

    • It’s the same here if you go to a private or a catholic school, and since I’m going to a catholic school I’m going to have to wear a uniform too. I couldn’t care less really, but I wished they looked as nice as Japanese ones. (I’m not talking about sailor and military uniforms that they show in anime, but those blazer, professional looking ones.)

      Like

  7. I go to a district that’s known for its schools
    It’s pretty strict here
    An A is normally 90 and up but my friends class needs a 96 and up to get an a which is literally so hard
    A B is 80 and up. You have to get a B and up to pass the class
    If you get 79 and down you must retake the class
    We had to memorize the 50 states of America and their locations and fill them in on a blank map. Oh and also the capitals of all the states and their approximate locations
    In 6 and 7 grade we had to do the same thing but with all the countries of Europe, south and Central America, Asia, and Africa
    It would be easy now but i was a little kid in 5-7 grade I was a kid
    I’m taking world geo this year so basically I have to do all of it again but it’s harder this time because we have to draw all the borders and states and outlines from scratch OTL
    I think it’s because my school is almost 60% Asians and 40% white people. We barely have any other races
    Smh the teachers are strict here and it’s not easy getting As
    Almost everyone here is taking a class higher than their grade
    I’m taking bio which is a 10th grade class when I’m in 9th grade
    I see all these people taking 12th grade Kathy and I’m just like wtf how are yall so good at math

    Liked by 1 person

      • And omg you’re so lucky you can use calculators
        We’re never EVER allowed to use them
        Sharpies whiteout and gym wasn’t allowed on our middle school campus
        Our dress code in middle school was extremely strict (my friends school said they could only wear certain colors despite being a public school) but it loosened up in hs
        We were required to memorize times tablets up to 20. It comes naturally now
        Smh everyone’s so smart here while I’m just doing art and science
        When I came to this district I was in 5th grade and that’s when I had to memorize the US states and capitals and I’m just like who makes elementary schoolers do that OTL
        Sorry about the long comments, I have a lot to say >.<

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s okay, a lot of people are making long comments. It makes me interested to see how different all schools are, and how unfair they are. Not only are we allowed to use calculators, but we’re also EXPECTED to use them. However, in grade eight my teacher told us that we weren’t allowed to use calculators on the first test we got and no one knew what to do since we were used to using a calculator so eventually she just let us use a calculator for the rest of the math tests we’ve gotten. 😛
        I should probably memorize my times tables as well…
        Don’t worry, I bet you’re more intelligent than me anyways. Probably because I’m in a easy school system.

        Like

    • Woah. o.O Really? I would have had to retake my French classes again if they had your system. (I literally got a 76 in reading, bleh.) Here we didn’t learn geography at all, like we were never even taught the provinces of Canada. Well, they just told us once and then moved onto another topic. By the way, I’m like the only Asian in my grade 8 class, and because of that people are very ignorant and racist. I hate it. Man, I must be an idiot compared to you guys. Well, at least that school prepares you for university, while I’m probably going to suffer in university. @_@

      Liked by 1 person

      • Meanwhile if you’re considered a good student if you get Bs (70-79) and you don’t have to do exams if you’re in applied and essential if you get those grades, wow…
        You have to be smarter than me though, with all of that hard studying.

        Like

      • Wow a B for you guys wouldn’t be passing
        But since our school is so academic, it’s extremely competitive especially with math. Most people will lie about having tutors and stuff, and my web leaders told me I should get a tutor at least by sophomore year of i want to keep up with everyone else
        Basically everyone here is going to university with the exception of some going to college

        Like

      • Everyone here is going to college or just going to find a job after high school, with some people going to university. Wow, it must be nice having intelligent friends at least. (Or you can make some.) It sucks having friends that just always constantly asking you for help in school, I assure you. 😛

        Like

      • Having intelligent friends is helpful when I need homework help but it makes me feel stupid lol. I have a friend whose taking 11-12 grade math and she’s the same age as me
        The periodic table of elements is a pain. In eighth grade we didn’t have to memorize everything because they changed the standards (the eight grade classes until the year before had to memorize the entire thing, poor them) but we have to know the basics like carbon helium and stuff and we had to memorize all the groups (17-18 groups in all) on eh table and name a few elements from each group and know all the properties
        Easier than memorizing the entire thing but still hard. I think I have 2/3s of the tablet memorized right now idk

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I live in Hong Kong and the school system seems really good compared to yours, but our school lives are miserable, like we have to get like about 80% to be average…

    Like

    • Average grades here are like 70% here, probably because people are in their levels as well (academic, essential, applied.) If everyone had to take academic, average would probably be around 60%.

      Like

  9. We learn integers in 7th grade here, and we did do long division, but all those other random facts seem a lot like my school… Though WE STILL LEARN BASIC GRAMMAR IN 9TH GRADE. SERIOUSLY. I’M NOT MAKING THIS UP. (By “basic grammar” I mean the parts of speech… Yeah…) The sad part is that most people at my school actually need this. -_-

    Like

    • Most of the people in my school still lowercase the Is when they’re referring to themselves! (I’M IN GRADE 9, TOO.) And to be honest, we were never taught grammar. When I met Jared and we messaged each other I’d speak with the best grammar speaking skills that I had, yet there were a ton of flaws that I had. Thanks to him, my grammar is almost flawless. :^)
      Maybe Canada schools need to be tougher on kids, instead of letting every thing go. =_= I literally have American friends who go by the sterotype of Canadians, “Canadians can’t do math and they can’t write properly.”

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m actually in grade 11 now (it feels really weird saying that), but ugh, some people STILL do that. I learned most of my grammar from this one really useful book when I was like 6 or 7. 😛 To be fair, I think a lot of people at my school get bad grades, because some of our teachers like to take marks away for the stupidest things. I’ve never heard that math/writing thing before, but it’s probably true… 🙄
        Also (and this is one of my favorite school stories to bring up), in eighth grade, the length of the one book we had to read that year was 87 PAGES. And it was meant for 9- to 10-year-olds, if I’m not mistaken. I probably could’ve even gone through it when I was like 6. -_-

        Like

      • What book was it? ._. I remember having to read a book last year, and I felt like reading a book for forth graders because of how generic the plot was, and how it wasn’t literate. It’s called “Small, Medium at Large.”

        Like

      • I’d rather not say because it might give away what my school is. (You never know, a lot of people from my school post stuff about the assignments online and there’s always that one random creep who stalks people’s comments.) I looked it up on Amazon and it seems very…blah. I think I read a book like it with the exact same plot, but in fourth or fifth grade. And definitely not for school.

        Like

Leave a Reply

